19 Harley St, London, W1G 9QJ, UK

Radiological Definitions Of Sagittal Plane Segmental Instability In The Degenerative Lumbar Spine – A Systematic Review London Spine

The London Spine Unit : best rated sugical centre in UK


Published article

Despite a reputation of non-consensus, segmental instability in the degenerative lumbar spine can radiologically be defined as > 3 mm dynamic sagittal translation.
Lumbar Disc Replacement Expert. Best Spinal Surgeon UK

Abstract

Study design: Systematic Review.

Objective: To collect and group definitions of segmental instability, reported in surgical studies of patients with lumbar spinal stenosis (LSS) and/or lumbar degenerative spondylolisthesis (LDS). To report the frequencies of these definitions. To report on imaging measurement thresholds for instability in patients and compare these to those reported in biomechanical studies and studies of spine healthy individuals.To report on studies that include a reliability study.

Methods: This review was conducted according to Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis (PRISMA) guidelines. Studies eligible for inclusion were clinical and biomechanical studies on adult patients with LDS and/or LSS who underwent surgical treatment and had data on diagnostic imaging. A systematic literature search was conducted in relevant literature databases. Full text screening inclusion criteria was definition of segmental instability or any synonym. Two reviewers independently screened articles in a two-step process. Data synthesis presented by tabulate form and narrative synthesis.

Results: We included 118 studies for data extraction, 69% were surgical studies with decompression or fusion as interventions, 31% non-interventional studies. Grouping the definitions of segmental instability according similarities showed that 24% defined instability by dynamic sagittal translation, 26% dynamic translation and dynamic angulation, 8% used a narrative definition. Comparison showed that non-interventional studies with a healthy population more often had a narrative definition.

Despite a reputation of non-consensus, segmental instability in the degenerative lumbar spine can radiologically be defined as > 3 mm dynamic sagittal translation.

Keywords: clinical spine surgery; diagnostic imaging; lumbar degenerative spondylolisthesis; lumbar segmental instability; spinal stenosis; systematic review.

The London Spine Unit : best rated sugical centre in UK
Read the original here:
Radiological Definitions of Sagittal Plane Segmental Instability in the Degenerative Lumbar Spine – A Systematic Review

Truspilot Reviews

Frank Otuo
Frank Otuo
2022-05-18
Extraordinary Care My 81 year old mother who has retired in Ghana was suffering from severe lower back pain so a local surgeon put her through discectomy with hardware (spine screws). The procedure was essentially botched, with one screw breaching her spinal canal resulting in extreme pain; unable to walk, pins and needles and numbness in the left leg. The hardware subsequently had become infected and loosened as a result. Her life after this surgery was the worse she has ever experienced in all her life. She had no doubt that she was eventually to die from the infection and pain. Fortunately, through diligent search, we found Mr Akmal and his team at The UK Spine Centre. She had a zoom consultation and with a ready MRI and CT scan, Mr Akmal knew exactly how to have her back to fitness and a better quality of life. She travelled to England on 26 March 2022 and had the surgery on 11 April 2022. It was a day-case. It lasted no more than 1 hour 30 minutes. She was on my feet within 2 hours pain free - still pain free 5 weeks on! To her this is simply a miracle ! She is grateful to Jehovah God for Mr Akmal and his team - thoroughly professional bunch at the top of their game. No one deserves to suffer the pain she experienced for two years. She seriously recommends Mr Akmal and his team for anything SPINE!
Luke O'Brien
Luke O'Brien
2022-05-18
Bilateral discectomy and dynamic stabilisation for complete foot drop From the first phone call, the team at London Spine have been amazing. I had severe symptoms following an L4/L5 disc injury from playing sports and had complete foot drop. Mr Akmal and his team treated the situation incredibly sensitively, as I had risk of permanent damage. The whole process was so quick, from initial consultation to operation was about 96 hours. On the day of the operation, the nurses couldn’t have been more helpful, attentive and calming. The surgery was flawless, with absolutely zero pain from the operation following. I am now 8 weeks from a bi-lateral discectomy and dynamic stabilisation procedure and have regained full use of my leg and toes, with a complete range of motion also. Mr Akmal’s aftercare has been first class, with regular calls from his team in the 2 weeks following the surgery, to the final consultation and discharge. Thanks so much for giving me my life back
AB
AB
2022-05-09
Excellent treatment Mr Mo Akmal treated me very successfully for 2 torn discs in my back. I was in tremendous pain before I was referred to him. The treatment I received from him was excellent and he communicated with me very well throughout the whole process. I am eternally grateful to Mr Akmal for sorting out my back and would highly recommend him.
shahnaz Choudhury
shahnaz Choudhury
2022-04-22
I had a massive bulging disk on my back… I had a massive bulging disk on my back compressing my nerve for three years. It caused me excruciating pain and almost left me disabled. I was on both crutches and completely homebound due to the severity of pain and mobility limitations. I had my lumber surgery two weeks ago and walked out of hospital within a few hours pain free on my right leg that was almost paralysing prior to surgery. The disk was shaved off releasing the nerve completely. Two days after surgery I had excruciating pain on my head that is unexplained as I had CT scan and MRI which were all fine. Dr Akmal has suggested it could be from the anaesthetic. I am extremely grateful to Dr Akmal and his very welcoming and cari g team. I would highly recommend his clinic as I have had excellent recovery.
MR HARVEY
MR HARVEY
2022-04-02
Thank you Mr Aklam After having a poor and very slow experiance in glasgow . I contacted Mr mo Amlam . Who is a true gentleman, great listener and paitent . We transfered my scans and treatments from glasgow to harley street . Mr Aklams p.a arranged a quick zoom to start our contact .I then went down for a meeting and examination and what should have been a spec scan .only to be told of a UK shortage . So 4 weeks later the scan took place in wellington hospital . Before I traveled back to glasgow. 5 days later I got a call to book me in to 19 harley street for a l3 and l4 debridement and stabilisation. The opp took place on 24th March. 2hours I was out walking 4 hours later . My pain in back groin and foot was all gone .thanks to Mr aklam . Top of his craft but more importantly pouts his patients first .he really wants to help you get better. Thank you so much Mr Robert harvey
Ken Carswell
Ken Carswell
2022-03-22
Amazing service and an amazing treatment! I can't thank Mr Akmal and team at the London Spine Unit enough for their help. I had a herniated disc in my back which was causing pain and restrictions. Compared to other offers of surgery (e.g. several nights in hospital), the day surgery and minimally invasive procedure were hugely appealing. I am now 3 weeks post surgery, have no pain and am recovering incredibly quickly if I compare myself to friends who have had a similar procedure. it was truly remarkable, straightforward and the team were kind, friendly and always helpful. very highly recommended!
customer
customer
2022-03-17
Great service and painless procedure Great service and painless procedure. Definitely alleviated the pain
Jonathan Scott-Barrett
Jonathan Scott-Barrett
2022-02-09
Back and nerve pain From diagnosis to treatment and post operational care, the London Spine Unit were very courteous, caring, efficient and generally first class in all departments of their clinic. My ailments pre operation have been successfully eradicated and I no longer suffer from back and nerve pain. I can also walk without stooping. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone with back problems to seek their advice and treatment if required. 9th February 2022
Kelly Tyler
Kelly Tyler
2022-01-29
Very good service and quality care Very good service and quality care. The help is invaluable.
Amanda Main
Amanda Main
2022-01-25
Very good service and attention Very good service and attention. The doctors are very kind, they attend with care and always report the condition well. The times that I have been able to visit them, there are not many, I have left very happy because they have relieved my back pain.

London Spine Unit Harley Street Hospital

A Focus on High Quality Specialised Care

We are a specialist Private Hospital based on Harley Street, London UK The Harley Street Hospital, Day Surgery Hospital

We provide exclusive health services for individuals seeking Advanced medical, non-surgical or minimally invasive treatments. We are covered by All Insurance Companies apart from AXA PPP

Our Medical Director and Lead Spinal Surgeon Mr Mo Akmal MD is a world renowned Spine Specialist Consultant with over 20 years of experience. He and his team have developed revolutionary techniques to perform all types of Spinal Surgery as a Day Case procedure without traditional General Anaesthetic.

We are constantly improving our techniques for treatment and improving facilities for our patients.

Book your Appointment Now 
Check out our Reviews 
Check out our Patient Videos 
Check our Mr Akmal’s Profile

 

What our patients say ...

Abstract Study design: Systematic Review. Objective: To collect and group definitions of segmental instability, reported in surgical studies of patients with lumbar spinal stenosis (LSS) and/or lumbar degenerative spondylolisthesis (LDS). To report the frequencies of these definitions. To report on imaging measurement thresholds for instability in patients and compare these to those reported in biomechanical…

Revolutionary Keyhole surgical technique to vaporise bulging discs

Dr Mo Akmal Medical Director
Dr Mo Akmal MD - Lead Spinal Surgeon

Laser Disc Surgery can be performed under local anaesthetic at The Harley Street Hospital.

Initial Consultation

with Consultant Spine Surgeon
£ 250
  • No Waiting Times
  • Top NHS affiliated Consultant
  • Includes Clinical Review and Report
  • Multidisciplinary discussion
  • Review of Previous Scans and Reports

Follow up Consultation

any appointment after initial consultation
£ 180
  • Top NHS affiliated Consultant
  • Includes Clinical Review and Report
  • Multidisciplinary discussion

High Resolution MRI Scan

any Single Region (3.0 Tesla)
£ 600
  • No waiting times
  • Includes Full Radiologist Report
  • Open or Closed MRI scan types
  • Copy of Scan on CD

Website Offer

Pre-Booked Online
£1130
£ 800
  • Initial Consultation
  • MRI Scan (Single Region)
  • Follow Up consultation
  • Same Day One Stop Visit
  • Full Medical and MRI scan Report
  • Copy of scan on CD
Popular

If you have any emergency Doctor’s need, simply call our 24 hour emergency

Your personal case manager will ensure that you receive the best possible care.

Call Now 

+44 844 589 2020
+44 203 973 8810