19 Harley St, London, W1G 9QJ, UK

Main leiomyosarcoma of the backbone handled with whole en bloc spondylectomy: the primary case in Thailand-a case report and literature overview.

Related Articles

Main leiomyosarcoma of the backbone handled with whole en bloc spondylectomy: the primary case in Thailand-a case report and literature overview.

J Backbone Surg. 2017 Dec;three(four):707-714

Authors: Pluemvitayaporn T, Piyaskulkaew C, Kunakornsawat S, Pruttikul P

Summary
Leiomyosarcoma is a uncommon kind of malignant mushy tissue tumor and in addition probably the most aggressive mushy tissue sarcomas. It generally happens in uterus, stomach viscera, retroperitoneal house and mushy tissue of the extremities. Main osseous leiomyosarcoma is a uncommon situation. Moreover, main leiomyosarcoma of the backbone is extraordinarily uncommon. Solely few instances have been reported. Nevertheless, the therapy and outcomes stays controversial. Due to this fact, the target of this case report is for example the administration of this extraordinarily uncommon illness by utilizing whole en bloc spondylectomy (TES) process, which is one of an appropriate choice for surgical resection of the spinal tumors. On this research, we introduced an uncommon case of a 61-year-old feminine, who was recognized as main leiomyosarcoma of the twelfth thoracic backbone with liver metastasis, handled with whole en bloc spondylectomy of the twelfth thoracic vertebra adopted by chemotherapy. On final follow-up, 6 months after the surgical procedure, the medical end result remained in good situation and no indicators of native recurrence. In conclusion, main leiomyosarcoma of the backbone is a particularly uncommon and troublesome to analysis. Immunohistochemistry research are crucial for affirmation of the analysis. Commonplace therapy stays controversial. Nevertheless, surgical resection remains to be therapy of selection. Probably the most efficient surgical choices is TES, which give the higher end result and reduce native recurrence, if point out.

PMID: 29354752 [PubMed]

Truspilot Reviews

SW
SW
2022-06-10
Fabulous service Fabulous service. Mr Akmal truly cares about his patients and how he can improve their quality of life. I would recommend him to anyone with any kind of spinal issue.
Honeywell Paul
Honeywell Paul
2022-06-08
Truly excellent results! I was diagnosed with lumbar stenosis after experiencing increasing pain in both legs. An MRI and consultation carried out at short notice confirmed this. Mr Akmal recommended that a spacer should be inserted in my lower back to correct the problem and release the nerves from the narrowing caused by stenosis. The operation was conducted very professionally and without pain. After the first two weeks the pain started to subside as expected. After 4 weeks I was completely back to normal. The result is exceptionally good and I feel renewed, with no pain whatsoever and a regained posture, ready to resume a normal life. I cannot recommend The London Spine Unit highly enough. They are medical magicians!
c etri
c etri
2022-06-06
Sciatica My mother was in absolute agony for more than 3 months due to sciatica. It just came out of nowhere and took her out of action. From working full time she went straight to being bed bound and unable to carry out simplest of actions.The pain was 9/10 and she was bed bound for those three months. Multiple trips to A&E and GP and they wouldn't class it as an emergency therefore they wouldn't do anything about it other than upgrading the painkillers which did next to nothing for my mother. I couldn't bear to watch my mother sleeping on A&E bench in pain for 7 hours, just to be told by doctors that she wouldn't be kept in. I remember her joining her hands and begging the doctors to stop the pain which broke my heart. I then started doing research on google and London spine unit came up with Dr Mo AKMAL's profile and review. First meeting with Dr AKMAL was via ZOOM as my mother was bed bound. Dr AKMAL spoke to me and my mom and told us that this is nothing to worry about and that the pain would be 100% gone.Dr AKMAL assured us to visit the hospital so he could physically inspect my mother and give us the best solution. One trip to the london spine unit and Dr AKMAL advised us that the best solution would be to carry out Minimally invasive disectomy. Dr AKMAL advised that due to my mother being bed bound for a while, steroid injection might not give the result that my mother wishes. Dr AKMAL was very confident and showed us some videos from other patients who had gone through the same ordeal. The biggest thing i noticed between before and after was the smile on the patients face. Dr AKMAL was constantly assuring my mother throughout the meeting that he would take care of her pain and gave her 100% confidence that the result would be delivered.He promised her that she would be walking pain free the same day after the operation. Before the operation Dr GURUNG was consulted multiple times and he also was very helpful. Right after the surgery, as Dr AKMAL promised, my mother was walking and the biggest thing was that the pain was gone. My mother had forgotten to smile for three months and there i saw her smiling again. Dr AKMAL and Dr GURUNG gave us brilliant aftercare and informed us that just give them a ring if there was any issue. Its been several weeks now and my mother is heading towards complete recovery without any issues. The pain is completely gone and anyone who is reading this going through the same horrible sciatica pain you must come and see Dr AKMAL. Thank you Dr AKMAL and your whole team for helping my mom achieve this pain free life.
Frank Otuo
Frank Otuo
2022-05-18
Extraordinary Care My 81 year old mother who has retired in Ghana was suffering from severe lower back pain so a local surgeon put her through discectomy with hardware (spine screws). The procedure was essentially botched, with one screw breaching her spinal canal resulting in extreme pain; unable to walk, pins and needles and numbness in the left leg. The hardware subsequently had become infected and loosened as a result. Her life after this surgery was the worse she has ever experienced in all her life. She had no doubt that she was eventually to die from the infection and pain. Fortunately, through diligent search, we found Mr Akmal and his team at The UK Spine Centre. She had a zoom consultation and with a ready MRI and CT scan, Mr Akmal knew exactly how to have her back to fitness and a better quality of life. She travelled to England on 26 March 2022 and had the surgery on 11 April 2022. It was a day-case. It lasted no more than 1 hour 30 minutes. She was on my feet within 2 hours pain free - still pain free 5 weeks on! To her this is simply a miracle ! She is grateful to Jehovah God for Mr Akmal and his team - thoroughly professional bunch at the top of their game. No one deserves to suffer the pain she experienced for two years. She seriously recommends Mr Akmal and his team for anything SPINE!
Luke O'Brien
Luke O'Brien
2022-05-18
Bilateral discectomy and dynamic stabilisation for complete foot drop From the first phone call, the team at London Spine have been amazing. I had severe symptoms following an L4/L5 disc injury from playing sports and had complete foot drop. Mr Akmal and his team treated the situation incredibly sensitively, as I had risk of permanent damage. The whole process was so quick, from initial consultation to operation was about 96 hours. On the day of the operation, the nurses couldn’t have been more helpful, attentive and calming. The surgery was flawless, with absolutely zero pain from the operation following. I am now 8 weeks from a bi-lateral discectomy and dynamic stabilisation procedure and have regained full use of my leg and toes, with a complete range of motion also. Mr Akmal’s aftercare has been first class, with regular calls from his team in the 2 weeks following the surgery, to the final consultation and discharge. Thanks so much for giving me my life back
AB
AB
2022-05-09
Excellent treatment Mr Mo Akmal treated me very successfully for 2 torn discs in my back. I was in tremendous pain before I was referred to him. The treatment I received from him was excellent and he communicated with me very well throughout the whole process. I am eternally grateful to Mr Akmal for sorting out my back and would highly recommend him.
shahnaz Choudhury
shahnaz Choudhury
2022-04-22
I had a massive bulging disk on my back… I had a massive bulging disk on my back compressing my nerve for three years. It caused me excruciating pain and almost left me disabled. I was on both crutches and completely homebound due to the severity of pain and mobility limitations. I had my lumber surgery two weeks ago and walked out of hospital within a few hours pain free on my right leg that was almost paralysing prior to surgery. The disk was shaved off releasing the nerve completely. Two days after surgery I had excruciating pain on my head that is unexplained as I had CT scan and MRI which were all fine. Dr Akmal has suggested it could be from the anaesthetic. I am extremely grateful to Dr Akmal and his very welcoming and cari g team. I would highly recommend his clinic as I have had excellent recovery.
MR HARVEY
MR HARVEY
2022-04-02
Thank you Mr Aklam After having a poor and very slow experiance in glasgow . I contacted Mr mo Amlam . Who is a true gentleman, great listener and paitent . We transfered my scans and treatments from glasgow to harley street . Mr Aklams p.a arranged a quick zoom to start our contact .I then went down for a meeting and examination and what should have been a spec scan .only to be told of a UK shortage . So 4 weeks later the scan took place in wellington hospital . Before I traveled back to glasgow. 5 days later I got a call to book me in to 19 harley street for a l3 and l4 debridement and stabilisation. The opp took place on 24th March. 2hours I was out walking 4 hours later . My pain in back groin and foot was all gone .thanks to Mr aklam . Top of his craft but more importantly pouts his patients first .he really wants to help you get better. Thank you so much Mr Robert harvey
Ken Carswell
Ken Carswell
2022-03-22
Amazing service and an amazing treatment! I can't thank Mr Akmal and team at the London Spine Unit enough for their help. I had a herniated disc in my back which was causing pain and restrictions. Compared to other offers of surgery (e.g. several nights in hospital), the day surgery and minimally invasive procedure were hugely appealing. I am now 3 weeks post surgery, have no pain and am recovering incredibly quickly if I compare myself to friends who have had a similar procedure. it was truly remarkable, straightforward and the team were kind, friendly and always helpful. very highly recommended!
customer
customer
2022-03-17
Great service and painless procedure Great service and painless procedure. Definitely alleviated the pain

London Spine Unit Harley Street Hospital

A Focus on High Quality Specialised Care

We are a specialist Private Hospital based on Harley Street, London UK The Harley Street Hospital, Day Surgery Hospital

We provide exclusive health services for individuals seeking Advanced medical, non-surgical or minimally invasive treatments. We are covered by All Insurance Companies apart from AXA PPP

Our Medical Director and Lead Spinal Surgeon Mr Mo Akmal MD is a world renowned Spine Specialist Consultant with over 20 years of experience. He and his team have developed revolutionary techniques to perform all types of Spinal Surgery as a Day Case procedure without traditional General Anaesthetic.

We are constantly improving our techniques for treatment and improving facilities for our patients.

Book your Appointment Now 
Check out our Reviews 
Check out our Patient Videos 
Check our Mr Akmal’s Profile

 

What our patients say ...

Main leiomyosarcoma of the backbone handled with whole en bloc spondylectomy the primary case in Thailand-a case report and literature overview | PDFAnterior lumbar surgery - Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Revolutionary Keyhole surgical technique to vaporise bulging discs

Dr Mo Akmal Medical Director
Dr Mo Akmal MD - Lead Spinal Surgeon

Laser Disc Surgery can be performed under local anaesthetic at The Harley Street Hospital.

Initial Consultation

with Consultant Spine Surgeon
£ 250
  • No Waiting Times
  • Top NHS affiliated Consultant
  • Includes Clinical Review and Report
  • Multidisciplinary discussion
  • Review of Previous Scans and Reports

Follow up Consultation

any appointment after initial consultation
£ 180
  • Top NHS affiliated Consultant
  • Includes Clinical Review and Report
  • Multidisciplinary discussion

High Resolution MRI Scan

any Single Region (3.0 Tesla)
£ 600
  • No waiting times
  • Includes Full Radiologist Report
  • Open or Closed MRI scan types
  • Copy of Scan on CD

Website Offer

Pre-Booked Online
£1130
£ 800
  • Initial Consultation
  • MRI Scan (Single Region)
  • Follow Up consultation
  • Same Day One Stop Visit
  • Full Medical and MRI scan Report
  • Copy of scan on CD
Popular

If you have any emergency Doctor’s need, simply call our 24 hour emergency

Your personal case manager will ensure that you receive the best possible care.

Call Now 

+44 844 589 2020
+44 203 973 8810